

Shropshire Council Legal and Democratic Services Shirehall Abbey Foregate Shrewsbury SY2 6ND

Committee: Council Date: 18 February 2015

Date: Thursday, 26 February 2015

Time: 10.00 am

Venue: Council Chamber, Shirehall, Abbey Foregate, Shrewsbury, SY2 6ND

You are requested to attend the above meeting.

The Agenda is attached

Claire Porter

Head of Legal and Democratic Services (Monitoring Officer)

Malcolm Pate (Chairman) **Andrew Davies Peter Nutting** David Lloyd (Speaker) Pauline Dee Mike Owen Keith Barrow (Leader) **David Evans** Kevin Pardy William Parr Ann Hartley (Deputy Leader) Roger Evans Peter Adams John Everall Vivienne Parry Andrew Bannerman Hannah Fraser John Price Malcolm Price Nicholas Bardsley Nigel Hartin Richard Huffer Tim Barker David Roberts **Charlotte Barnes** Tracev Huffer Keith Roberts Roger Hughes Joyce Barrow Madge Shineton Vince Hunt Jon Tandy **Tudor Bebb Thomas Biggins** John Hurst-Knight Robert Tindall Andy Boddington Jean Jones Dave Tremellen Vernon Bushell Simon Jones **Kevin Turley Gwilym Butler** Miles Kenny **David Turner** John Cadwallader Heather Kidd Arthur Walpole Karen Calder Christian Lea Stuart West Dean Carroll Robert Macey Claire Wild Lee Chapman Jane MacKenzie **Brian Williams** Steve Charmley **Chris Mellings** Mansel Williams Anne Chebsey **David Minnery** Leslie Winwood Peter Cherrington Pamela Moseley Michael Wood Ted Clarke Alan Moslev **Tina Woodward** Gerald Dakin Cecilia Motley Paul Wynn

Peggy Mullock

Your Committee Officers are:

Steve Davenport

Karen Nixon and Penny Chamberlain Tel: (01743 252724 or 252729

Email: karen.nixon@shropshire.gov.uk

penny.chamberlain@shropshire.gov.uk



AGENDA

1 Apologies for Absence

2 Disclosable Pecuniary Interests

Members are reminded that they must not participate in the discussion or voting on any matter in which they have a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest and should leave the room prior to the commencement of the debate.

3 Minutes (Pages 1 - 16)

To approve as a correct record the non-exempt minutes of the previous meeting held on 18 December 2014, which are attached marked 3.

Contact Karen Nixon Tel 01743 252724.

4 Announcements

To receive such communications as the Chairman, Speaker, Leader and Head of Paid Service may desire to lay before the Council.

5 Public Questions

To receive any questions from the public, notice of which has been given in accordance with Procedure Rule 14.

A petition bearing over 1,000 signatures has been received from Mr John Whitelegg on behalf of the Church Stretton Library Group calling upon Shropshire Council to retain the library on the present site and abandon plans to move it to the School on Shrewsbury Road.

The petitioner will be allowed 5 minutes to outline their case, after which there may be a debate of up to 15 minutes, maximum.

Questions from Members (Pages 17 - 26)

To receive any questions from Members, notice of which has been given in accordance with Procedure Rule 15.2, attached marked 6.

7 Returning Officer's Report (Pages 27 - 28)

Report of the Head of Legal and Democratic Services is attached marked 7.

Contact Claire Porter Tel 01743 252763.

8 Report of the Independent Remuneration Panel (Pages 29 - 46)

Report of the Head of Legal and Democratic Services is attached marked 8.

Contact Claire Porter Tel 01743 252763.

9 Business Plan and Financial Strategy 2015/16 to 2016/17

Report of the Head of Finance, Governance and Assurance will follow marked 9.

Contact James Walton Tel 01743 255011.

10 Treasury Strategy 2015/16 (Pages 47 - 92)

Report of the Head of Finance, Governance and Assurance is attached marked 10.

Contact James Walton Tel 01743 255011.

11 Income Review of Fees and Charges for 2015/16 (Pages 93 - 168)

Report of the Head of Finance, Governance and Assurance is attached marked 11.

Contact James Walton Tel 01743 255011.

12 Council Tax Resolution 2015/16 (Pages 169 - 188)

Report of the Head of Finance, Governance and Assurance is attached marked 12.

Contact James Walton Tel 01743 255011.

13 Appointments to Committees

To confirm the following changes of membership:

Shropshire and Wrekin Fire and Rescue Authority

The appointment of Mr K Roberts as a full Member to replace Mr M Bennett.

Performance Management Scrutiny Committee

The appointment of Mr D Minnery as a full Member to replace Mr M Bennett.

14 Motions

The following motion has been received in accordance with Procedure Rule 16 from Councillor Arthur Walpole:

"This Motion seeks the support of the Members of Shropshire Council, to reaffirm the Council's objection in principle to a 400kV High Voltage overhead power line crossing

Shropshire to connect Windfarms in mid-Wales to the existing national grid.

The proposed overhead Power Line will have a detrimental impact in Shropshire with no perceived beneficial gain for Shropshire communities and will adversely affect our local communities our environment and our tourist economy. The construction phase including the impact of the construction traffic on our local roads and communities would have a detrimental effect on the quality of life and on property. This will leave a permanent legacy affecting our green and pleasant land.

This Motion furthermore registers concern at the anxiety that is being caused by National Grid pursuing formal consultation on the proposed Power Line predicated on the need to connect Windfarms some of which are the subject of a Public Inquiry and which may not be agreed.

Should the need for the Power Line be established then this Motion seeks the support of the members of Shropshire Council in pressing National Grid to re-examine the justification for the overhead pylon route and to present a feasibility case for a solution using underground cables.

This Motion endorses the need for the Council's Officers and Members to continue to engage in the due planning processes for the proposed High Voltage Power Line so as to ensure that the interests of our communities are fully and effectively represented."

15 Exclusion of the Press and Public

To RESOLVE that in accordance with the provisions of Schedule 12A, Local Government Act 1972 and paragraph 10.4(3) of the Council's Access to Information Procedure Rules, the public and press be excluded during the consideration of the following items.

16 Exempt Minutes (Exempted by categories 1 and 3) (Pages 189 - 192)

To approve as a correct record the exempt minutes of the meeting held on 18 December 2014 attached marked 16.

Contact Karen Nixon Tel 01743 252724.

17 Connecting Shropshire - Phase 2 (Exempted by category 3) (Pages 193 - 196)

Exempt report of the Head of Economic Growth & Prosperity is attached marked 17.

Contact Andy Evans Tel 01743 253869.